Close
Events

Term dates and school times

March 2021 school reopening timings

School times

Start time 8.50am
Lessons start 8.55am
Years 3 and 4 lunch 11.30pm -12.30pm
Years 5 and 6 lunch 12.30pm - 1.30pm
School finishes 3.15pm
After schools clubs From 3.15pm

2020/21 TERM DATES

  School closes School reopens

Summer 2020

(6 weeks)

Thursday 16 July 2020

Wednesday 2 September 2020

Autumn half term 2020

(1 week)

Friday 23 October 2020

Monday 2 November 2020

Christmas 2020

(2 weeks)

Friday 18 December 2020

Tuesday 5 January 2021

Spring half term 2021

(1 week)

Friday 12 February 2021

Monday 22 February 2021

Easter 2021

(2 weeks)

Friday 26 March 2021

Monday 12 April 2021

Summer half term 2021

(1 week)

Friday 28 May 2021

Monday 7 June 2021

Summer 2021

(6 weeks)

Friday 16 July 2021

TBC

School will be closed on Monday 2 May 2022 for the May bank holiday

Dates of professional development days:

  • Day 1 Monday 6th September 2021
  • Day 2 Friday 26th November 2021
  • Day 3 Tuesday 4th January 2022
  • Day 4 Thursday 24th February 2022
  • Day 5 Friday 25th February 2022

Days 4 and 5 to be covered by twilight sessions.

School will be closed on Monday 2nd May 2022 (May Bank Holiday).

2021/22 TERM DATES

  Starts Ends

Autumn term

 

Tuesday 7 September 2021

Friday 17 December 2021

Autumn half term 2020

(1 week)

Monday 25 October 2021

Friday 29 October 2021

Christmas holidays

(19 days)

Saturday 18 December 2021 Tuesday 4 January 2022

Spring term

Wednesday 5 January 2022

Friday 8 April 2022

Spring half term 2022

(1 week)

Monday 21 February 2022

Friday 25 February 2022

Easter holidays 

 

Saturday 9 April 2022 Sunday 24 April 2022

Summer term

 

Monday 25 April 2022

Friday 22 July 2022

Summer half term 2022

(1 week)

Monday 30 May 2022

Friday 3 June 2022

Summer holidays

(6 weeks)

Friday 22 July 2022 TBC

Dates of professional development days:

  • Monday 6 September 2021
  • Friday 26 November 2021
  • Tuesday 4 January 2022
  • Thursday 24 February 2022 (twilight session)
  • Friday 25 February 2022 (twilight session)

Holidays and absences in term time

New Government regulations have made it clear that a school or Academy may not grant any leave of absence from school during term time unless there are exceptional circumstances. Our duty is to ensure all students have complete access to the education provided and we ask for parental support to ensure this happens.

This means:

  • A parent does not have the right to take a child out of school for a holiday or absence in term time.
  • The school will refuse an application for absence unless parents can demonstrate and prove there are exceptional circumstances relating to the request.
  • Absence from school for any reason has a significant effect on learning and is proven to reduce student grades.
  • If a holiday or an absence is taken when permission has not been granted, it will be recorded as an unauthorised absence (truancy) and noted on the student’s record of achievement. The information will be sent to Sunderland City Council who will consider whether a fine of £60 should be issued. 
  • If a student already has poor attendance and an unauthorised absence is taken, the information may be sent to Sunderland City Council Attendance Enforcement Team who will consider legal proceedings at a magistrate’s court.

If you have any queries please contact Mrs K Marriott or Mrs J Hannah, Office Administrators, on 0191 563 0975.