Close
Events

Term dates and school times

School times

  Year 6 Year 5 Year 4 Year 3
Start 8:40am 8:45am 8:50am 8:55am
Finish 3:05pm 3:10pm 3:15pm 3:20pm

 

2021/2022 TERM DATES

Autumn Term 2021

Starts

Ends

Half term

Tuesday 7 September 2021

Friday 17 December 2021

Monday 25 October – Friday 29 October 2021

Christmas break: Monday 20 December 2021 – Monday 3 January 2022

Spring Term 2022

Starts

Ends

Half term

Wednesday 5 January 2022

Friday 8 April 2022

Monday 21 February – Friday 25 February 2022

Easter break: Monday 11 April 2022 – Friday 22 April 2022

Summer Term 2022

Starts

Ends

Half term

Monday 25 April 2022

Thursday 21st July 2022

Monday 30 May – Friday 3 June 2022

Summer break: Monday 25 July 2022 – Wednesday 7 September 2022

Diamond Hall Junior Academy will be closed to pupils on the following professional development days:

  • Day 1: Monday 6 September 2021
  • Day 2: Friday 26 November 2021
  • Day 3: Tuesday 4 January 2022
  • Days 4 and 5 to be covered by twilight sessions.

School will be closed on Monday 2 May 2022 (May Bank Holiday) and on Friday 22 July 2022 (additional bank holiday issued by the government for the Queen’s Jubilee).

2022/2023 TERM DATES 

Autumn Term 2022

Starts

Ends

Half term

Wednesday 7 September 2022

Friday 23 December   2022

Monday 24 October -Friday 28 October 2022

Christmas break: Monday 26 December 2022 – Friday 6 January 2023

Spring Term 2023

Starts

Ends

Half term

Tuesday 10 January 2023

Friday 31 March 2023

Monday 20 February – Friday 24 February 2023

Easter break: Monday 3 April 2023 – Friday 14 April 2023

Summer Term 2023

Starts

Ends

Half term

Monday 17 April 2023

Thursday 20 July 2022

Monday 29 May – Friday 2 June 2023

Summer break: Friday 21 July 2023 - TBC

Diamond Hall Junior Academy will be closed to pupils on the following professional development days:

  • Day 1: Monday 5 September 2022
  • Day 2: Tuesday 6 September 2022
  • Day 3: Monday 9 January 2023
  • Days 4 and 5 to be covered by twilight sessions.

School will be closed on Monday 1 May 2023 (May Bank Holiday).

 

Holidays and absences in term time

New Government regulations have made it clear that a school or Academy may not grant any leave of absence from school during term time unless there are exceptional circumstances. Our duty is to ensure all students have complete access to the education provided and we ask for parental support to ensure this happens.

This means:

  • A parent does not have the right to take a child out of school for a holiday or absence in term time.
  • The school will refuse an application for absence unless parents can demonstrate and prove there are exceptional circumstances relating to the request.
  • Absence from school for any reason has a significant effect on learning and is proven to reduce student grades.
  • If a holiday or an absence is taken when permission has not been granted, it will be recorded as an unauthorised absence (truancy) and noted on the student’s record of achievement. The information will be sent to Sunderland City Council who will consider whether a fine of £60 should be issued. 
  • If a student already has poor attendance and an unauthorised absence is taken, the information may be sent to Sunderland City Council Attendance Enforcement Team who will consider legal proceedings at a magistrate’s court.

If you have any queries please contact Mrs L Heslop or Mrs J Hannah, Office Administrators, on 0191 563 0975.